The penalties for a DUI conviction can be substantial, however the extended consequences beyond those mandated by law can be equally, if not more impactful. When you are found guilty of a DUI in California, your drivers’ license will automatically be suspended for a period of four months for a first offense. This lack of transportation can cause some people to lose their jobs, lose the ability to travel to crucial appointments, or possibly become them to become reliant on the assistance of another, which is far from the most convenient for everyone involved.
Therefore, when you are arrested for a DUI, the citing officer may issue you an Order of Suspension and Temporary License. These documents allow you drive in a limited capacity for 30 days from the date it was issued, thus enabling you to get to where you need to go, and nowhere else. These heavily-restricted licenses allow you to travel to a very small number of destinations so you can continue to get by, but keep you off the roads at all other times.
Restrictions of a Temporary License
Temporary restricted licenses are significantly stricter on what you are allowed to do and where you are allowed to go behind the wheel. When you are given a restricted license, you are permitted to go three places:
- Your job or place of employment
- Your court-ordered alcohol class
- Your home
Going to anywhere other than these places is technically considered driving without a license and could land you a fine between $300 and $1,000 and possibly some time in county jail.
During this time you must attend and complete your state-approved DUI program course. Failing to attend will result in an immediate revocation of your license and your suspension will be reinstated. You may also be required to install an Ignition Interlock Device on your vehicle for the duration of your suspension and possibly even longer, depending on your sentence.
Getting an Extended Temporary License
Since a DUI suspension lasts longer than 30 days and you will likely need to continue going to work, you can apply for a restricted license that will last for the duration of your penalty. Depending on the outcome of your DMV hearing, you may be eligible to apply for a restricted license immediately, or you may be required to wait a minimum of 30 days to do so.
When applying, you must show proof of enrollment in a DUI program that has been approved by the state and financial responsibility (proof of insurance). The DMV will charge you a $125 reissue fee for your license. The same destination restrictions will apply until your license is reinstated in full.
If you have been arrested for a DUI, it is highly advised that you retain the services of a skilled DUI lawyer in Pasadena to help you through this scary and uncertain legal process. The legal team at Hutton & Wilson have handled thousands of DUI cases and have earned a long list of highly satisfied clients and prestigious distinctions, including Board Certification as a Criminal Law Specialist by the State Bar of California.
Get top-rated legal help after you have been arrested for a DUI. Call Hutton & Wilson, at 626.587.2220 today.